Showcase

Night Burnerz (2015 New Models): POWER SURGE

Possibly one of the most overlooked #Unlicensed Hot Wheels of 2015 is the Power Surge. Its only fitting that its the last car we feature for 2015.

I like to frequent the Hot Wheels Customs forum at HotWheelsCollectors.com as customizers have always impressed me with their combo of skills and imagination. In a recent post by user “clearhooter”, he likened the new Hot Wheels Power Surge casting to that of an old Ford J-Car. He made a few body modifications to the Power Surge, along with adding some cool vintage racing graphics. The end result was a car that looked very similar that that of a retro Ford J-Car. He even photographed it with an old photo in the background (see below).

Diecast Motorsports

Custom “Retro Ford J-Car” done by “clearhooter” from HotWheelsCollectors.com

I was so impressed with this custom that I went out and grabbed the pegwarming Power Surge the very next day. Under closer examination, I am totally digging this futuristic electric supercar. Hot Wheels describes the Power Surge as a:

Completely electric supercar with wireless induction charging coils and oversized heat sinks to power gigantic electric motors. Solar panels on the roof maximize environmental resources. It’s fully charged and ready for anything.

The huge rooftop solar panels stretch along the backbone of this car are a nice touch — albeit in blue (mayble a dark chrome would have looked better). The “wireless induction charging coils”? …well those are found on the bottom. While the 2015 version (shown below) is the #First Edition of the Power Surge, another version is slated to be released in the 5-Car, HW Green Speed Series for 2016.

Diecast Motorsports

RELEASE DETAILS: Pearl White Body (metal). Blue Window. Blue Interior. Blue-Chrome-Rimmed, Black PR5 Wheels. Metalflake Gray Base (plastic). Made in Malaysia. Toy# CFG76. Released in 2015 as part of the HW Workshop / Night Burnerz Series.


RedlineDerbyLogo

If you are (or aspire to be) a Hot Wheels / Diecast Racer, check out redlinederby.com. Its a great resource for all things related to racing your toy cars.

4 replies »

  1. I like this car for some reason myself, even without seeing that slick custom you posted. I picked a couple of these up when they first hit the pegs. They just have some really interesting lines that catch my eye and for some reason, I feel compelled to just run my fingers over the lines when I hold the car. It’s odd, but I like it. I’m interested to see how they treat it in the future.

Leave a comment